Library Liaisons to the School of Nursing
Professional Resources
American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)
AACN Membership Directory
Directory of Nursing Schools Maintained by the AACN.
Testing & Education Reference Center ![]()
(Gale Group) Free registration. Contains NCLEX-PN and NCLEX-RN practice test.
Good Reads
Welford C, Murphy K, Casey D. (2011) Demystifying nursing research terminology. Part 1. Nurse Researcher. 18, 4, 38-43. ![]()
Welford C, Murphy K, Casey D. (2012) Demystifying nursing research terminology: Part 2. Nurse Researcher. 19, 2, 29-35. ![]()
Introduction to Library Services
Getting Started with Library Resources
Clinical Resources Video. Case scenario demonstrating clinical use of library resources. Flash required
Connect to UW Restricted Resources from Off-Campus
Using the proxy service.
Document Services Order Form
Order books or copies of articles delivered to you - be sure to check for possible fees.
For Specific Courses
NMETH 520 Scholarly Inquiry for Nursing Practice: Evidence-Based Practice Resources and Activity
NURS 303 Foundations of Professional Nursing: Introduction to Online Library Resources
NURS 304 Human Responses I: Library Tips for Assignment
NURS 309 Pharmacotherapeutics in Nursing Practice: Drug Information Resources
NURS 410 Legal and Ethical Issues in Clinical Practice: Finding Bioethic Resources
NURS 415 Nursing of Families Childbearing and Childrearing: Finding and Identifying Research
NURS 560 Dynamics of Community Health Practice: Finding Community Health Data
NURS 593 Preventive Therapeutics: Search for Evidence for Preventive Therapeutics
General Library Instructional Pages
PubMed at the UW
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's database of citations to biomedical literature going back to the early 1950's. Read this web page to learn how to search PubMed and watch the brief videos for visual search samples. Flash required
CINAHL Plus: Nursing & Allied Health (HSL help guide)
CINAHL Plus provides citations from 1937 to the present of the literature in nursing and allied health disciplines.
EndNote Web Help Page
Tip sheet for using EndNote Web <http://www.myendnoteweb.com.offcampus.lib.washington.edu> with UW-available databases to manage citations and format bibliographies.
RefWorks Information
Help page on using RefWorks, an online citation database to manage citations and format bibliographies.
Basic Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice Resources
Introduction to finding evidence-based literature online.
Measurement Tools/Research Instruments Help Guide
How to find information about measurement instruments and tips on how to get copies of them.
Additional Resources
Free Computing Workshops
Offered by UW Learning & Scholarly Technologies (LST) to UW students and employees.
ResearchWorks Institutional Repository
Deposit your dissertations, theses, capstone projects, articles, technical reports, datasets, images, and other file types. No charge to you and makes your work available to others.

Loading...
