Evidence-Based Practice Tools Summary

pyramid modified from: Navigating the Maze, University of Virginia, Health Sciences Library
Cochrane Systematic Reviews
-
Cochrane Library www3.interscience.wiley.com/cgi-bin/mrwhome/106568753/HOME
The Cochrane Collaboration. Oxford: Update Software; 1996-. Updated quarterly. -
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews)
-
'Gold Standard' for high-quality systematic reviews
-
Full-text included in Cochrane Library
-
Cochrane Reviews includes complete reviews and protocols (reviews that are still in progress)
-
Cochrane Reviews abstracts are in PubMed
-
-
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews - DARE)
-
prepared by the National Health Service Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York, England
-
Complements the Cochrane Reviews by offering a selection of quality assessed reviews in those subjects where there is currently no Cochrane review
-
Brief critical appraisals of previously published reviews of the effects of health care
-
Structured abstracts, not full-text
-
DARE not indexed in PubMed, but original research articles may be
-
Also available at no charge on the web from University of York | www.crd.york.ac.uk/crdweb/
-
Other Systematic Reviews and Meta-analyses
-
PubMed MEDLINE - Systematic Reviews | www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query/static/clinical.shtml
-
access: part of PubMed's Clinical Queries (linked on PubMed Home and Advanced Search pages)
UW access for more full-text links -
Identifies systematic reviews and other similar types of studies found in biomedical journals included in PubMed database
-
No evaluation of comparative quality of different reviews on a topic
-
Abstracts supplied by authors/journals. No separate evaluation of quality of research
-
Identify systematic reviews in the biomedical area - gathers together much larger collection than other evidence-based practice resources
-
Evidence Guidelines/Summaries
-
BMJ Clinical Evidence | www.clinicalevidence.com/
-
Compendium of evidence on the effects of clinical interventions
-
Summarizes the current state of knowledge, including knowns and unknowns, based on thorough search
-
Categorizes interventions as beneficial, likely beneficial, no known benefit, harmful ...
-
-
DynaMed | www.ebscohost.com/dynamed
-
Best available evidence summaries for nearly 2000 topics
-
Clinical reference tool developed for use at the 'point-of-care'
-
Outline format to quickly identify key conclusions
-
Updated daily
-
-
Other Resources
- USPSTF Guidelines | www.ahrq.gov/clinic/prevenix.htm
- AHRQ Evidence Reports | www.ahrq.gov/clinic/epcix.htm
- FPIN Clinical Inquiries included in Journal of Family Practice | www.jfponline.com and American Family Physician | www.aafp.org/afp/
RCTs, Case Cohorts, Control Studies
-
PubMed | www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=uwonline (pubmed.gov if you are not a UW faculty, staff, or student)
-
note: Filtered by publication type, but not quality
-
Clinical Queries - Uses preconfigured search strategies to retrieve research-based citations on clinical topics in the areas of therapy, diagnosis, etiology, or diagnosis
-
Use Limits to search by specific publication type (e.g. meta-analysis, randomized controlled trial, review)
-
-
Cochrane Library | www3.interscience.wiley.com/cgi-bin/mrwhome/106568753/HOME
The Cochrane Collaboration. Oxford: Update Software; 1996-. Updated quarterly.-
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials)
-
Bibliography of controlled trials as part of an international effort to hand search the world's journals
-
Includes reports published in conference proceedings and in many other sources not in PubMed or other bibliographic databases
-
-
-
Other Resources
- Check HSL Databases for other databases that may be appropriate.
Clinical Research Critiques
Reviews of patient care relevant studies.
-
ACP Journal Club | www.acpjc.org
-
American College of Physicians - American Society of Internal Medicine (ACP-ASIM)
-
Internal medicine focus
-
Abstracts to journal articles selected according to explicit criteria from major peer-reviewed medical journals
-
Available in print
-
-
POEMS (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters) | www.essentialevidenceplus.com/inforetriever/results.cfm?resource=E
-
Structured abstracts by Journal of Family Practice editors
-
Reviews over 90 journals monthly; identifies eight articles to abstract
-
Focus on the patient
-
Subset available in Journal of Family Practice
-
All POEMS included in Essential Evidence Plus
-
Other Reviews of the Literature
-
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database | www.naturaldatabase.com
-
Subject-specific database of evidence-based information.
-
Compiled by publishers of Pharmacist's Letter and Prescriber's Letter
-
Herbal medicines, and dietary supplements used in the western world
-
Assesses available evidence; check references for quality of source
-
-
Check HSL Databases for other subjects.
Case Reports, Case Series, Other Articles, Practice Guidelines, etc.
-
PubMed | www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=uwonline
-
Use Limits to search by specific publication type(s)
-
-
National Guideline Clearinghouse | www.guideline.gov/
-
Initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
-
Available at no charge
-
Updated weekly with new and changed guidelines
-
Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. Voluntary participation
-
Clinical Reference Texts
-
Care Provider Toolkit | http://hsl.uw.edu/toolkits/care-provider
-
Use HSL website Search for individual title
Meta-Search Engines
-
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) | www.tripdatabase.com
-
Meta-search from the UK
-
Searches over 55 sites of evidence-based information
-
Includes links to peer-reviewed journals and other publications
-
-
SUMSearch | sumsearch.org
-
Produced by University of Texas Health Sciences Center, San Antonio
-
Simultaneously searches few free-access sources - PubMed Cochrane Systematic Reviews (within PubMed), National Guideline Clearinghouse and Merck Index
-
Results grouped by reviews, practice guidelines, systematic reviews and research-based articles
-
Additional Resources
-
HSL LibGuide: Evidence-Based Practice | libguides.hsl.washington.edu/ebp
-
PubMed at the UW for search tips
-
Evidence-Based Resources Help



Loading content... please wait
