This is the "General Strategies" page of the "Finding Qualitative Research Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Meeting the educational, research and clinical information needs of the UW community.

Finding Qualitative Research Articles   Tags: evidence based practice, interviews, qualitative research  

Last Updated: Apr 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.hsl.washington.edu/qualres Print Guide RSS Updates

General Strategies Print Page
  Search: 
 

Introduction

Qualitative research is defined as research that derives data from observation, interviews, or verbal interactions and focuses on the meanings and interpretations of the participants. (Holloway and Wheeler, 1995)

Qualitative research can be challenging to find as these methodologies are not always well-indexed in bibliographic databases. This help guide will provide some tips and information to guide you in your search for qualitative research articles through databases, such as PubMed and CINAHL.

      

    For Any Database

    Strategy 1: Use Thesaurus Terms

    Databases use controlled keywords (known as thesaurus terms or subject headings) to categorize each record stored. PubMed, for example, uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), a highly structured thesaurus. The thesaurus terms vary for each database according to their indexing system. For example, qualitative research is indexed in PubMed as "Qualitative Research" or "Nursing Methodology Research", while in CINAHL their subject heading "Qualitative Studies" is complemented by more detailed terms, including "Phenomenological Research" and "Grounded Theory".

    Strategy 2: Use Text Words

    This strategy uses Text Word terms that might specifically identify qualitative research and searches the titles, abstracts and keywords of records held in the databases. Some Text Words (or keywords) include: qualitative, ethnograph*, phenomenol*, ethnonurs*, grounded theor*, purposive sample, hermeneutic*, heuristic*, semiotics, lived experience*, narrative*, life experiences, cluster sample, action research, observational method, content analysis, thematic analysis, constant comparative method, field stud*, theoretical sample, discourse analysis, focus group*, ethnological research, ethnomethodolog*, interview*.

    Strategy 3: Use Qualitative Research Filters

    Qualitative Research Filters are pre-formulated search strategies that have been constructed by librarians to help you retrieve articles in databases that deal with qualitative research. You can use the filter and then combine the results with your subject.

        
      Health Sciences Library
      1959 NE Pacific Street
      T334 Health Sciences Building
      Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA
      phone: 206-543-3390
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip