Skip to main content
Meeting the educational, research and clinical information needs of the UW community.

Biomedical Sciences Toolkit: Home

Library services and recommended resources for biomedical and clinical researchers. Includes literature databases, lab protocols, funding & collaboration resources, tools for finding scientific information, and guides for complying with NIH policies.

Dissertations and Theses

SciENcv and My Bibliography for New NIH Biosketch Format

The new NIH biosketch format requirements ask for "a URL for a full list of your published work as found in a publicly available digital database such as SciENcv or My Bibliography."

  Here are directions for setting up and using these tools. 3974884

Using the Biomedical Sciences Toolkit

Use the tabs to navigate this Biomedical Sciences Toolkit.

FUNDING YOUR RESEARCH:

  • Databases for funding opportunities and awarded grants.
  • Grant-Writing Guides

COLLABORATORS AND NETWORKING:

  • Research networking tools.
  • Search tips for finding experts and potential collaborators.

ARTICLES AND ABSTRACTS:

  • Tips on choosing a database for literature searching: PubMed, Web of Science, Scopus, Embase, SciFinder.
  • My NCBI for Current Awareness Alerts.
  • Cited Reference Searching.

CURRENT AWARENESS ALERTS

  • Recommended methods for keeping up with the literature in your field.

LAB PROTOCOLS AND RESOURCES:

  • Springer Protocols, JoVE video protocols.
  • Research reagents, lab supplies, and lab safety information.

SCIENTIFIC DATA:

  • Databases for scientific information, including genomics, medical genetics, molecular pathways, model organisms, drug targets, etc.

FEDERAL FUNDING REQUIREMENTS:

  • NIH Public Access Policy and Data Management guidance.
  • SciENcv and MyBibliography.

PRECLINICAL RESEARCH:

  • Resources for in vitro and in vivo research.
  • Librarian support for IACUC protocols.

CLINICAL RESEARCH:

  • Clinical Trial Registries.
  • REDCap, eagle-i, ResearchMatch
  • Drug and Device Regulatory Approval Documents.

JOURNALS:

  • Popular biomedical electronic journals.
  • Tips on getting access to UW journal subscriptions.

SEMINARS AND EVENTS:

  • UW and Seattle area biomedical seminars.

Contact the Biomedical & Translational Sciences Librarian

Diana Louden

UW Health Sciences Library
206.221.3480
Send Email

Diana's Website

Ask a Librarian!

We're happy to help with:

  • Research Strategies and Database Searching
  • Current Awareness Alerts
  • Locating Collaborators or Mentors
  • Using Citation Managers
  • Teaching a Workshop
  • Tracking Down Difficult-to-Find Information

Contact us by email or phone.

Citation Management and Writing Guides

Health Sciences Library
1959 NE Pacific Street
T334 Health Sciences Building
Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA
phone: 206-543-3390